Mother’s Day Muffins

With Mother’s Day approaching I pondered what to give my mummydearest. Being one of five, I reckoned that she would probably receive some flowers so I decided to do something different…I thought I’d bake.

My mum is also a food lover and I’m sure this is where I get this particular trait from. Within seconds of phoning my mum, the conversation has usually turned to food. We’ll talk about what we’re having for tea (dinner for non Northern folk) or I’ll ask her yet another food question. “Can I leave this out of the fridge to cool?” I’ll say, which is usually followed by a sigh and “We didn’t have fridges when I was little you know.”

And so I thought she would appreciate a tasty treat for Mother’s Day. Blueberry muffins were the obvious choice, her being a fan of the shop-bought type and so I searched for a recipe as I’d never made them before – eek!

I’ll be honest, there was a bit of trial and error involved – the recipe I originally used wasn’t sweet enough and was more cakey than muffiny (don’t worry, they were still eaten!). The second recipe I used was perfect and advised to cut the blueberries in half which gives the lovely purple staining through the muffins. The biscuits in the picture are lemon cookies baked by my other half (also very yum, the cookies not the other half although he is yum too of course) and taken from Rachel Allen’s Bake.

And the verdict from my mother?

“Exquisite”

I have to say I agree with her. I’ve definitely caught the baking bug.

3 Comments

Filed under Baking, Food

3 responses to “Mother’s Day Muffins

  1. Ryan

    Those muffins were delicious… even the ones that didn’t make the final cut.

  2. Raichyrae

    They look beautiful. I insist you send me all food to review from now on, I will provide jiffy bags 🙂

Leave a Reply

