Strawberry and Rhubarb Crumble

It’s been a lovely day up in the Northwest today, sun is shining, birds are singing – let’s hope it stays that way. The only thing threatening to spoil today was a visit to the dentist. What with all the cakes I’ve been eating lately I was sure I’d need a filling but luckily all was fine and so I figured I deserved a dessert tonight – a rhubarb and strawberry crumble. I’ve made lots of crumbles before but never this combination. Here‘s the recipe I based it on.

I was very pleased with the result. It was sweet with the occasional tart piece of fruit – thumbs up from me. I also recommend using oats in the crumble topping. The other half is having a bit of a tough day at work so hopefully this will be a welcoming treat for when he eventually gets home. Gotta go, Corrie’s starting. Oh what an exciting life I lead. πŸ™‚

4 Comments

Filed under Baking, Food, Mr Pavlova, Recipes

4 responses to “Strawberry and Rhubarb Crumble

  1. Ryan

    I just wish we had some left!

  2. Raichyrae

    I made a rhubarb crumble too, just yesterday, we had ours oaty too but not very oaty seeing as I dropped most of the packet all over the floor….I turned the open packet the wrong way up , had ours with creme fraiche and pimms-ette πŸ™‚

    • I can’t believe how cheap rhubarb is – I just needed one stick n it was about 45p! So I’m gonna try n find some more rhubarb recipes. Looking forward to hearing you on the radio today! xx

  3. Oh my goodness, your photograph of your crumble looks like such a yummy messy thang. So delicious…I’ve never had rhubarb before, but I think that I want to try it in a crumble (after trying it out raw. Maybe with sugar). My local grocery store doesn’t have it though, so I will have to search a bit more, but yours looks yum ;]

Leave a Reply

