The Best Chocolate Cake in the World

So, I hope all of you who are eligible have voted. I have…OK that’s enough politics.

Last weekend, on a whim, we decided to climb Pendle Hill. And for some reason, OH decided we should follow the steepest route. It hurt. A lot. In fact I thought I might actually die. But it was worth it for the views, and of course the smug sense of accomplishment.

On the journey home we discovered an ace farm shop, Huntleys of Samlesbury. Farm shops have a strange effect on me.  For some reason I find myself regressing, pointing at things saying “I want that, I neeeeeeed that”. You must understand that farm shops are like churches for foodies like me. And cheese is God.

That leads me to my first recipe.

Since me and OH have been together I’ve not been able to eat cauliflower as he doesn’t like it -he says it tastes really strong. No, I don’t get it either. So, I decided to make cauliflower cheese in a bid to convert him:

Saz’ Incredible OH – Converting Cauliflower Cheese

200g grated cheese

25g butter

30g (ish) flour

300ml milk

1 cauliflower

First I had to make a roux, which I’d never done before. I melted the butter in a pan gently. Once melted, I took the pan off the heat, added most of the flour and mixed to make a paste. I put the pan back on the heat and slowly added the milk and the remaining flour, whisking continuously to get rid of any lumps.

Once it had thickened, I added the cheese and mixed. I then poured the cheese sauce over the cooked cauliflower and put it under the grill for a couple of mins until I couldn’t wait any more and I had to eat it.

So after all that effort, what did the OH say?…

“You could make broccoli cheese next time”

Now here‘s a recipe that OH did like. Don’t worry, it works fine with regular cocoa.

This is actually the best chocolate cake in the whole world. If you don’t believe me then you should make it. If you still think that you know of a better chocolate cake then feel free to send me a piece and I will gladly be the judge. I know, it’s a tough job but someone’s got to do it. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Baking, Food, Mr Pavlova, Recipes, Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Best Chocolate Cake in the World

  1. Ryan

    It’s a fact, that chocolate cake could have been severed up at a Michelin star restaurant… and the recipe made an American sized amount of cake, enough to last months for a normal human.

  2. Raichyrae

    Convert your nephews and nieces next (well, Erin and Connor, the other two like it already) That cake looks stupendous, I demand a taste! Love oo xxx

Leave a Reply

